Oil and Gas Committee. This committee, established under the (Canada) Oil and Gas Production and Conservation Act [RSC 1970, c.O-4 amended by RSC 1970 c.30 (lst supp.), SC 1970-71-72, c.1] has full jurisdiction to inquire into, hear and determine, and to make any order, or give any direction that pursuant to the act the committee is authorized.

The committee consists of five members, not more than three being employees of the public service of Canada and one member designated chairman. The committee is under the direction of the minister of Indian affairs and northern development and the minister of energy, mines and resources, each in relation to any area in which that minister has administrative responsibility for natural resources.

Patent Appeal Board (Patent Appeal Board Canada). This is an advisory body established in 1970 under the Patent Act (RSC 1970, c.203). Its function is to review rejections of applications for patents of invention when applicants request review, to conduct hearings to consider arguments of applicants, and to make recommendations to the commissioner of patents for ultimate disposition of the applications. It acts in a similar capacity with delegated powers from the minister of consumer and corporate affairs under the Industrial Design Act (RSC 1970, c.150) to consider rejections of industrial design applications made by the registrar of copyright and industrial design. The board consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman and one other member.

Pension Appeals Board. This board, established under the Canada Pension Plan Act (RSC 1970, c.C-5) hears appeals under the Canada Pension Plan and under certain provincial pension plans. It also hears appeals from certain decisions of the umpire under the Unemployment Insurance Act (SC 1971, c.48) as amended. The board consists of two judges of the Federal Court of Canada or of a superior court of a province appointed as chairman and vice-chairman, and from one to eight other persons, each a judge of the federal court or of a superior, district or county court of a province. For appeals under the Canada Pension Plan, the board reports to Parliament through the minister of national health and welfare.

Pension Review Board (Pension Review Board Canada). The board was created under the minister of veterans affairs by amendments to the Pension Act 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.31). Further amendments were made in May 1977, by the Act to Amend the Pension Act (SC 1976-77, c.13). Composed of a chairman, deputy chairman and five other members, the board is an independent and autonomous body that hears appeals in the Ottawa region from pension applicants dissatisfied with decisions of an entitlement board or two members of the Canadian Pension Commission. The board is also the responsible body when matters of interpretation of the acts are at issue.

Petro-Canada. In July 1975 the Petro-Canada Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.61) established Petro-Canada as a Crown corporation to increase the supply of energy available to Canadians, to assist the government in formulating its national energy policy and to increase the Canadian presence in the petroleum industry. The corporation consists of a board of directors composed of a chairman, president and not more than 13 other persons appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its head office is at Calgary, Alta. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Petroleum Compensation Board. The board, originally known as the Energy Supplies Allocation Board, was established by the Energy Supplies Emergency Act (1974) and continued in existence through section 68 of the Petroleum Administration Act (PAA). The board was renamed the Petroleum Compensation Board by an amendment to the PAA on April 20, 1978. It has five members, including a chairman and vice-chairman. All members are full-time employees of the energy, mines and resources department. The principal responsibilities of the board are the administration of an oil import compensation program, a petroleum research compensation program and a petroleum administration act levy.

Pilotage Authorities. The Pilotage Act (SC 1971, c.52) established pilotage authorities for the Atlantic, Laurentian, Great Lakes and Pacific regions as proprietary corporations as specified in the Financial Administration Act. The objectives of each authority are to establish, operate, maintain and administer in the interests of safety an efficient pilotage service within the region set out in respect of the authority. Each of the four authorities has a chairman and not more than six other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council for a term not exceeding 10 years. The pilotage authorities report to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Post Office Department (Canada Post). Administration and operation of the post office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1970, c.P-14) and under the postmaster general, comprises all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of the money-order service.

Department headquarters is in Ottawa, with regional headquarters in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver, and district offices in St. John's, Halifax, Saint John, Quebec City, Montreal, Ottawa, North Bay, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and Vancouver.